Malala Yousafzai talks to CNN’s Isha Sesay about #BringBackOurGirls, and turning 17

cnn

Pakistani education activist Malala Yousafzai sat down with CNN’s Isha Sesay(@IshaSesayCNN) in Abuja to discuss her meeting with Nigerian President Goodluck Jonathan about the 200+ girls kidnapped by Boko Haram from their school in Chibok, Nigeria more than 90 days ago.

On what President Jonathan told her

“He made me two promises. The first one he made was that he’d definitely meet the parents of those girls and listen to what the parents say. It’s very important because the parents need support, and he hasn’t met the parents yet so it would be the first meeting. It’s a great success for me because I want to raise the voices of those parents.

The second promise was that he would make sure these girls are soon released, and he would try his best. He said that he has many solutions, and he would find the best solution for it.”

On cruelty of Boko Haram

“In Swat, it’s a very difficult situation of Talibanization and terrorism where we were not allowed to go to school and we are girls. Education was totally banned and women were not allowed to go to market.

But here, the situation is – is like – it’s the same. They are against education, but here they – they seem like more cruel. They have crossed the limits of cruelty and harshness. And we see that girls are now deprived of their families. They are away from their homes and it’s – it’s – I can’t even imagine it. And those girls are suffering through it.”

On turning 17

“I’m 17 and I feel that I have more and more responsibility as I grow older. I can see myself more responsible, and I think that I should continue my campaign for girls education as well as focus on my education because I believe that education will empower me and it will strengthen me to give me more and more courage.”

VIDEO:

http://cnn.it/1yinmkC 

Posted on July 15, 2014, in News and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a reply

